Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy Releases Today

Rockstar Games is releasing the Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – Definitive Edition for all major platforms, including the Switch, today. The collection remasters three GTA games with enhanced graphics and modernized controls to better suit today’s audience. All of the games have been rebuilt with additional environmental upgrades, new lighting, and more.

What Does GTA Collection Contain?

The new GTA remastered collection contains three classic games from the series:

  • Grand Theft Auto III

  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

All of the games are available in this bundle, but GTA: San Andreas will also be available as a standalone game later. It’s still unclear if GTA III or Vice City will also be released separately, too.

What To Expect

All three games have received full enhancements with both visual and gameplay upgrades. The remastered games feature a rebuilt lighting system which also includes upgraded models, improved shadows, higher draw distances, and better car models. They also have an improved HUD and navigation system, giving the games a more modern feel.

The Nintendo Switch version does look slightly different to the other versions due to the limitations of the console. The graphical improvements don’t look as good compared to the PS5, PC, and Xbox Series X versions. Unlike the other versions, though, the GTA Trilogy on Switch allows for gyro aiming and brings touchscreen support.

When Does It Release?

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – Definitive Edition has released today for Nintendo Switch as a digital download. The physical version of the game will be coming next month on December 7 instead. However, getting a physical copy of the game will still require a download to play the games.

Justin McGee
Justin McGee
Lifelong Nintendo fan. Follow me on Twitter @PuffyRedShirt

Related Articles

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: